

110 N. Poplar Street • PO Box 218 • West Branch, Iowa 52358 (319) 643-5888 • Fax (319) 643-2305 • www.westbranchiowa.org • <u>city@westbranchiowa.org</u>

> ZONING BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT MEETING Wednesday, January 24, 2018 • 6:30 p.m. West Branch City Council Chambers, 110 N. Poplar St. Council Quorum May Be Present

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Approve minutes from the January 11, 2017 Zoning Board of Adjustment meeting./Move to action.
- 4. Approve \_\_\_\_\_\_ as Chairperson of the Zoning Board of Adjustment./Move to action.
- 5. Approve \_\_\_\_\_\_ as Vice Chairperson of the Zoning Board of Adjustment./Move to action.
- 6. Approve \_\_\_\_\_\_ as Secretary of the Zoning Board of Adjustment./Move to action.
- 7. Staff Reports Leslie Brick commission member recruitment
- 8. Adjourn

Board of Adjustment Members: Jennie Embree, Wayne Frauenholtz, Frank Frostestad, Vacant, Vacant
Zoning Administrator: Terry Goerdt · Deputy City Clerk: Leslie Brick · Mayor: Roger Laughlin
Council Members: Jordan Ellyson, Colton Miller, Brian Pierce, Jodee Stoolman and Nick Goodweiler
City Administrator/Clerk: Redmond Jones II · Fire Chief: Kevin Stoolman · Library Director: Nick Shimmin
Parks & Rec Director: Melissa Russell · Police Chief: Mike Horihan · Public Works Director: Matt Goodale

## City of West Branch Board of Adjustment Meeting January 11, 2017 West Branch City Council Chambers, 110 North Poplar Street

Chairman, Craig Walker opened the regular meeting of the Zoning Board of Adjustments at 6:30 p.m. via phone call by welcoming the audience which included the following City Staff: Deputy City Clerk Leslie Brick and Public Works Director Matt Goodale. Board members Craig Walker (Chair), Frank Frostestad, Jennie Embree and Kami Poppen were present. Absent: Wayne Frauenholtz.

<u>Approve minutes from the January 13, 2016 Zoning Board of Adjustment meeting</u>. Motion by Frostestad, second by Poppen. AYES: Frostestad, Poppen, Walker. NAYS: None. Abstain: Embree. Absent: Frauenholtz. Motion approved.

Approveas Chairperson of the Zoning Board of Adjustment/ Move to action.Frostestad nominated Walker as Chairperson of the Zoning Board of Adjustment.Motion by Frostestad, second by Embree. AYES: Frostestad, Embree, Poppen, Walker. NAYS: None.Absent: Frauenholtz. Motion approved.

Approveas Vice Chairperson of the Zoning Board of Adjustment/ Move to action.Walker nominated Frostestad as Vice Chairperson of the Zoning Board of Adjustment.Motion by Walker, second by Poppen. AYES: Walker, Poppen, Embree, Frostestad. NAYS: None.Absent: Frauenholtz. Motion approved.

Approveas Secretary of the Zoning Board of Adjustment/ Move to action.Walker nominated Deputy City Clerk Leslie Brick as Secretary of the Zoning Board of Adjustment.Motion by Walker, second by Embree. AYES: Walker, Poppen, Embree, Frostestad. NAYS: None.Absent: Frauenholtz. Motion approved.

## Staff Reports- Zoning Administrator Terry Goerdt.

Goodale introduced Goerdt as the new Zoning Administrator, replacing Paul Stagg who vacated the position in November 2016. Goodale said in addition to Goerdt's current role as the City's building inspector, Goerdt will take on the role of Zoning Administrator. Goerdt addressed the commission and provided his background in zoning. Goerdt said he works in other surrounding communities serving as their inspector and has many years of experience in doing so. Goerdt currently works full-time for the City of Iowa City as their Plans Examiner. Walker also commented that he had a previous conversation with Goerdt and felt that his experience he will be an asset to the city and the commissions on which he will serve.

## <u>Adjourn</u>

Motion by Poppen, second by Embree. Motion carried on a voice vote. Meeting adjourned at 6:43 p.m.